Skip to content

loveinthemidwest

Just another WordPress.com site

After Nick and I chose the wedding reception venue I got to work thinking about how I wanted the space to look and feel.  We chose the Heritage Center in Saint Joseph, MI because it already had large white columns, beautiful moldings, chandeliers and murals.  It was so beautiful to begin with, why spend money trying to decorate it further?  I knew that I wouldn’t have to do much to make it perfect for our celebration.  I chose to use vintage milk glass vases as our centerpieces to fit with the theme and colors.  I also knew that I didn’t want to spend a ton of money on flowers that were just going to be thrown away the next day.  I brought pictures of different flower arrangements that I liked to the florist and asked her to make me a sample as close as she could get to the pictures for a good price.  I told her that it didn’t matter to me what flowers were used as long as the colors and overall feel was the same.  I bought all of the milk glass vases online from eBay, Goodwill or around town at different antique shops. I think we had 25-30 by the end.  They looked beautiful at the tables and all of the floral arrangements, bouquets, boutonnières and cake topper only cost me $1000 from Tara Florists.  I got a very high end look without blowing the budget.  Here are some pics, again by Kate Podjan Photography.

I also thought a wreath would be the perfect way to adorn the beautiful balcony overlooking the reception hall.  I looked into buying one with silk flowers already made but nothing was to my taste.  I also thought about having the florist make one but that would have cost me upwards of $100-200 due to the large size.  So I figured, I’m handy, I can do it myself and I did (with a little help from my friends, thanks guys).

 

Materials List

  • Wire cutter or scissors if you want to struggle with it
  • A basic grapevine wreath (24 inch)
  • A boatload of silk flowers and greenery bought at Hobby Lobby during one of their half off flowers sales (I used ranunculus, carnations, hydrangeas, sweet peas, roses and gladiolas for a romantic summer garden look)
  • Heavy Green Floral Wire
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • 2 inch silk ribbon

 

Total Cost $50

Directions:

First arrange the flowers around the wreath to gauge how many you are going to need and then cut off all the stems leaving about ¼ inch to ½ inch for gluing/tying.  After you complete that step, stuff the flowers in around the wreath where you would like them to be.  I used two gladiolas to give my wreath some good coverage and they are easy to bend into a circular shape and tie down with the wire.  I also placed large blooms all the way around and fit my smaller blooms and greenery around them to make sure it looked balanced.  This is a good way to get the most for your money as most of the small blooms were as equally expensive as the large ones.  After I had it arranged the way I wanted it, I hot glued and tied down all the flowers securely.  Then I cut a good length of the cream ribbon and tied it through the wreath with a bow, but you could also just knot it and it would look great.  Pretty easy, right?  Then we just tied it to the balcony using the same floral wire.  Here are some pics.

 

I hope this inspires you to get out there and DIY!  Here are a few floral arrangements that inspired me.  Have a great one!

Chelsea

Tags: , , , , ,

