Skip to content

loveinthemidwest

Just another WordPress.com site

Before I get to the good stuff, like how I planned our wedding and all the DIY projects I did to get the look I wanted on a budget, I first have to tell you how Nick popped the question.  Everyone asked me if I knew he was going to propose, and it would be a lie to say I couldn’t guess that it was going to happen soon, but all the same it was surprising.  We had been dating for 3 years and had been talking a lot about marriage and our future.  I even picked out a few rings I liked.  Anyways, it was a beautiful day in October 2009 and he took me to my sister’s house in Saint Joseph, MI where we watched a Notre Dame football game.  Afterwards we were all supposed to head over to the local Niles Haunted House.  When we got in the car Nick asked me if I would like to get some hot cocoa over at the South Bend Chocolate Café.  We got our hot cocoa and walked over to the bluff overlooking Lake Michigan all lit up in the darkness.  You could hear the waves crashing onto shore as he held me close.  I kissed him and told him that I loved him.  I could tell he was really nervous but he got down on one knee and pulled out a little box.  He asked me if I would marry him and I said yes through the tears.  It was one of the most beautiful and overwhelming moments in my life.  The only thing I remember thinking about was how happy, scared, excited and ready I was to be Nick’s wife.  And then I thought-wait did you ask my parents for permission?  Nick stated that he had been too nervous to even think about asking, so I made him call my parents on the spot and ask them! Of course they said yes and then he said, “Good because she already said yes!” Kate Podjan Photography took our engagement pictures the following summer out on Lake Michigan in the same place where we got engaged.  She is an amazing photographer and I highly recommend her services.  Please take a look at some of the pictures and tell me your engagement story in the comment box! I would love to hear how your guy popped the question!

Chelsea

Tags: , , , , , , ,

