Skip to content

loveinthemidwest

Just another WordPress.com site

Our female style inspiration this week comes from Miss Blake Lively.  After typing her name into Google images, I found an array of different looks, although they always stemmed back to the classic skinny jeans, top, jacket and oversized purse.  The first two looks are cohesive and pulled together, although generally I am not a fan of graffiti tops or motorcycle boots. Blake, however, pulls the look off effortlessly.  The third look is definitely a winner for me because I have been dying to get my hands on a pair of white skinny jeans!  I also like the nautical look for the upcoming spring season.  Here’s how we can get a similar look!

1.    2.  

3.

New matchstick jean in white denim

Ankle Stretch Toothpick Jean from J. Crew in White Denim for $98

Women's Authentic Original 2-Eye Boat Shoe

Women’s Authentic Original 2-Eye Boat Shoe from Sperry for $80

I am not a huge fan of the belly shirt.  This is one fad I think I will stay away from.  However, I do love the new color blocking trend.  Here a couple of options that I think would keep the integrity of the outfit but fit to my taste.

I love this color block tee by Edith A. Miller for J. Crew at $82

Edith A. Miller™ contrast stripe tee

And this one for $45 also by J. Crew

Colorblock stripe boatneck tee

Lastly, I might pair this look with a denim jacket like the one Blake is wearing in picture number 2.  This way you don’t look like you just stepped off a steamer.

I like this 1969 one from Gap for $69.95 in a vintage wash.

Chelsea

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

