Skip to content

loveinthemidwest

Just another WordPress.com site

I have been eyeing several different blogs and crafts that have featured felt flowers and so I decided to take a stab at them.  First I looked up on Google.com “felt flowers” and searched through the links until I found one that I liked.  Infarrantly Creative has a great tutorial here that I followed.  Here are some tips that I would suggest after having tried this out.

  • Have a ruler to measure and a felt tip marker to mark where you need to cut.
  • Have a large heavy book or box to put on top of your folded felt after having glued it-because it does not like to stick together. Due to this problem, I didn’t glue mine together before hand and maybe that’s why my results were not quite as professional looking as hers.
  • If you have a problem with cutting your slits to make the petals all the same width, like I did, use that ruler again and measure and mark them for a more consistent look.
  • Have a supply of large pins to pin the flowers together after having rolled them.  That way they stick together while the glue is drying.

Now here is the result I achieved following the directions.  It looks pretty good to me!

Here is what I did with my supply of felt flowers.

I just pinned all the flowers onto the wreaths, that way I can pull them out when I feel like it and add something else!  The first couple I made went on the bird wreath.  Those are less than stellar, but still look good.  I really like the purple wreath I made with our initial on it. Believe me, this craft is pretty easy and not that time consuming.  I highly recommend you try it!

Chelsea

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

